Confusion reigns at finale of Kildare championship tie

Nurney's Eoghan Fitzpatrick and Straffan's John Tracey in action during this evening's controversial Auld Sheebeen Intermediate Football Championship tie in Kilcullen
RATHER than the usual raucous celebrations and bitter looks of disappointment at the final whistle of such an important Auld Sheebeen Intermediate Football Championship tie, when Alan Archbold blew the final whistle in Kilcullen this evening to signal the end of the preliminary round clash between Nurney and Straffan there was only confusion, bewilderment, and even some fury.
According to the match official, the final score was 0-14 to 1-10 in favour of Staffran but the problem was that he seemed to be the only person in the ground who came to that conclusion.
In a tight game where every score was crucial, the referee came to the sideline with around ten minutes to play to instruct linesman Henry Barrett that the scoreboard, which at that stage was showing 0-10 to 1-7, was incorrect and that Straffan should have an extra point. That message was passed on to the scoreboard operator who duly updated the scoreboard to the new score according to the referee. The problem is that it is not clear where that extra point came from as media and independent observers in the stand all agreed that the scoreboard had been showing the correct score and that no alternations were needed.
Play proceeded and according to the new scoreline Straffan went two points clear when John Tracey scored in the 61st minute but when Neil Kelly landed the last point of the game four minutes later, Nurney believed they snatched a draw so were understandably unhappy when it was confirmed that the referee had a different final scoreline when play was called to a halt shortly after.
It should be said that Alan Archbold is an experienced referee and is one of the top officials in the county and apart from this incident refereed this game in his usual unfussy, unobtrusive and diligent manner.
However, there does appear to be a severe error in the final scoreline.
After discussions with the referee upon the conclusion of the game, which it has to be said were conducted in a mannerly fashion despite the obvious disgruntlement, Nurney officials were already planning their next course of action and it's likely that they will explore some form of appeal in the coming days.